AccueilGroupesDiscussionsPlusTendances
Site de recherche
Ce site utilise des cookies pour fournir nos services, optimiser les performances, pour les analyses, et (si vous n'êtes pas connecté) pour les publicités. En utilisant Librarything, vous reconnaissez avoir lu et compris nos conditions générales d'utilisation et de services. Votre utilisation du site et de ses services vaut acceptation de ces conditions et termes.

Résultats trouvés sur Google Books

Cliquer sur une vignette pour aller sur Google Books.

Chargement...

Punching the Air (2020)

par Ibi Zoboi, Yusef Salaam

Autres auteurs: Omar T. Pasha (Illustrateur)

MembresCritiquesPopularitéÉvaluation moyenneMentions
5871839,860 (4.38)3
Poetry. Suspense. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:

New York Times and USA Today bestseller * Boston Globe-Horn Book Honor * Walter Award Winner * Goodreads Finalist for Best Teen Book of the Year * Time Magazine Best Book of the Year * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * Shelf Awareness Best Book of the Year * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * New York Public Library Best Book of the Year

From award-winning, bestselling author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam of the Exonerated Five comes a powerful YA novel in verse about a boy who is wrongfully incarcerated. A must-read for fans of Jason Reynolds, Walter Dean Myers, and Elizabeth Acevedo.

The story that I thought

was my life

didn't start on the day

I was born

Amal Shahid has always been an artist and a poet. But even in a diverse art school, because of a biased system he's seen as disruptive and unmotivated. Then, one fateful night, an altercation in a gentrifying neighborhood escalates into tragedy. "Boys just being boys" turns out to be true only when those boys are white.

The story that I think

will be my life

starts today

Suddenly, at just sixteen years old, Amal is convicted of a crime he didn't commit and sent to prison. Despair and rage almost sink him until he turns to the refuge of his words, his art. This never should have been his story. But can he change it?

With spellbinding lyricism, award-winning author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam tell a moving and deeply profound story about how one boy is able to maintain his humanity and fight for the truth in a system designed to strip him of both.

.
… (plus d'informations)
Chargement...

Inscrivez-vous à LibraryThing pour découvrir si vous aimerez ce livre

Actuellement, il n'y a pas de discussions au sujet de ce livre.

» Voir aussi les 3 mentions

Affichage de 1-5 de 18 (suivant | tout afficher)
It was a very powerful written piece. I understand his frustrations of being passionate about art but only white artist are being showcased in class. Although, I could never compare my situation to his. The "therapist" character ugh, I think I mentally blocked out her name was so frustrating. There's no way she couldn't tell her patient was slipping into depression and yet she refused to let him go to poetry/art classes until he went to the general ed ones because those were a privilege? Literally what. It is also so cool that Yusef is a prison reform activist. It gives more meaning to the book.
  sonorag | Jul 28, 2023 |
SO GOOD!!! ( )
  Reading_Vicariously | May 22, 2023 |
Amal Shahid is an aspiring artist and poet. Umi, his mother, is a fierce woman who is Amal’s strength during his trials. He is wrongfully convicted and expresses his experiences with the inequities of the judicial system. Anal documents the discrepancy between himself and his white counterpart.

Punching the Air is the story of a benevolent boy who fights for the truth through a system designed to suppress it. Because of Yusef Salaam’s similar experience with the judicial system; these poems are blunt, innovative, and powerful. Ethan and Ibi do an excellent job articulating the severity of the situation and depth of emotions. Punching the Air is a captivating young adult read that is reflective of current times. ( )
  RandyMorgan | Mar 8, 2023 |
Crikey, that was an incredibly well written and important verse novel.

The way the imagery of the stones, bricks, dust and butterflies is so cleverly woven into the story to symbolise Amal's shifting emotional state was just amazing and so poignant.

I thoroughly recommend reading the text copy of the book as the word placement on the page is part of the story telling. A must read for the significance and importance of the topic and also to enjoy the experience of reading an incredibly well crafted verse novel.

I remember that feeling
of being in a dream
or a nightmare
as if this life isn't mine
as if I've stepped into the flesh and bones
of someone else pretending to be me
and I'm waiting for an opening
in the universe to pull me out of
this dream state
this smoky haze
this ghost of a body
that is not me
( )
  Mrs_Tapsell_Bookzone | Feb 14, 2023 |
God I suck at rating YA novels, double whammy that it was written in verse bc I don't like either of those things but it was an important read with some really important lines and messages, not sure the plot was that strong but it's okay because I don't think that's what it was really about. I liked certain parts of it a lot and didn't love others but that's ok, I think it's just me not liking YA and verse. Oh wait, I already said that. I am so sleepy. ( )
  ninagl | Jan 7, 2023 |
Affichage de 1-5 de 18 (suivant | tout afficher)
aucune critique | ajouter une critique

» Ajouter d'autres auteur(e)s

Nom de l'auteurRôleType d'auteurŒuvre ?Statut
Ibi Zoboiauteur principaltoutes les éditionscalculé
Salaam, Yusefauteur principaltoutes les éditionsconfirmé
Pasha, Omar T.Illustrateurauteur secondairetoutes les éditionsconfirmé

Prix et récompenses

Listes notables

Vous devez vous identifier pour modifier le Partage des connaissances.
Pour plus d'aide, voir la page Aide sur le Partage des connaissances [en anglais].
Titre canonique
Titre original
Titres alternatifs
Date de première publication
Personnes ou personnages
Lieux importants
Évènements importants
Films connexes
Épigraphe
Dédicace
Premiers mots
Citations
Derniers mots
Notice de désambigüisation
Directeur de publication
Courtes éloges de critiques
Langue d'origine
DDC/MDS canonique
LCC canonique

Références à cette œuvre sur des ressources externes.

Wikipédia en anglais

Aucun

Poetry. Suspense. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:

New York Times and USA Today bestseller * Boston Globe-Horn Book Honor * Walter Award Winner * Goodreads Finalist for Best Teen Book of the Year * Time Magazine Best Book of the Year * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * Shelf Awareness Best Book of the Year * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * New York Public Library Best Book of the Year

From award-winning, bestselling author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam of the Exonerated Five comes a powerful YA novel in verse about a boy who is wrongfully incarcerated. A must-read for fans of Jason Reynolds, Walter Dean Myers, and Elizabeth Acevedo.

The story that I thought

was my life

didn't start on the day

I was born

Amal Shahid has always been an artist and a poet. But even in a diverse art school, because of a biased system he's seen as disruptive and unmotivated. Then, one fateful night, an altercation in a gentrifying neighborhood escalates into tragedy. "Boys just being boys" turns out to be true only when those boys are white.

The story that I think

will be my life

starts today

Suddenly, at just sixteen years old, Amal is convicted of a crime he didn't commit and sent to prison. Despair and rage almost sink him until he turns to the refuge of his words, his art. This never should have been his story. But can he change it?

With spellbinding lyricism, award-winning author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam tell a moving and deeply profound story about how one boy is able to maintain his humanity and fight for the truth in a system designed to strip him of both.

.

Aucune description trouvée dans une bibliothèque

Description du livre
Résumé sous forme de haïku

Discussion en cours

Aucun

Couvertures populaires

Vos raccourcis

Évaluation

Moyenne: (4.38)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 9
3.5 4
4 26
4.5 2
5 41

Est-ce vous ?

Devenez un(e) auteur LibraryThing.

 

À propos | Contact | LibraryThing.com | Respect de la vie privée et règles d'utilisation | Aide/FAQ | Blog | Boutique | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliothèques historiques | Critiques en avant-première | Partage des connaissances | 201,906,191 livres! | Barre supérieure: Toujours visible