Photo de l'auteur
36+ oeuvres 4,917 utilisateurs 169 critiques 10 Favoris

A propos de l'auteur

Ntozake Shange was born Paulette Linda Williams in Trenton, New Jersey on October 18, 1948. She received a bachelor's degree from Barnard College in 1970 and a master's degree in American studies from the University of Southern California in 1973. She adopted her African name while in graduate afficher plus school. She wrote 15 plays, 19 collections of poetry, six novels, five children's books, and three essay collections. Her choreopoem, For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide/When the Rainbow is Enuf, opened on Broadway in 1976 and received an Obie Award. She also received an Obie in 1981 for her adaptation of Bertold Brecht's Mother Courage and Her Children. Her trilogy, Three Pieces, won the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Poetry in 1981. She died on October 27, 2018 at the age of 70. (Bowker Author Biography) afficher moins
Crédit image: Photo by Lilithcat

Séries

Œuvres de Ntozake Shange

Sassafrass, Cypress and Indigo (1982) 572 exemplaires
Ellington Was Not a Street (2004) 410 exemplaires
Coretta Scott (2009) 316 exemplaires
Betsey Brown (1985) 300 exemplaires
Some Sing, Some Cry (2010) 211 exemplaires
nappy edges (1978) 127 exemplaires
I Live in Music (1994) 110 exemplaires
A Daughter's Geography (1983) 91 exemplaires
Three Pieces (1981) 75 exemplaires
If I Can Cook/You Know God Can (1998) 73 exemplaires
We Troubled the Waters (2009) 68 exemplaires
Float Like a Butterfly (2002) 56 exemplaires
Freedom's a-Callin Me (2012) 53 exemplaires

Oeuvres associées

Passing (1929) — Introduction, quelques éditions2,726 exemplaires
Race, Class, and Gender in the United States: An Integrated Study (1992) — Contributeur, quelques éditions517 exemplaires
Cries of the Spirit: A Celebration of Women's Spirituality (2000) — Contributeur — 373 exemplaires
Breaking Ice: An Anthology of Contemporary African-American Fiction (1990) — Contributeur — 276 exemplaires
African American Poetry: 250 Years of Struggle and Song (2020) — Contributeur — 176 exemplaires
Erotique Noire/Black Erotica (1991) — Contributeur — 159 exemplaires
Black males (1980) — Avant-propos, quelques éditions132 exemplaires
Black Women Writers at Work (1983) — Contributeur — 129 exemplaires
The Penguin Book of Women's Humour (1996) — Contributeur — 119 exemplaires
Deep Down: The New Sensual Writing by Women (1988) — Contributeur — 116 exemplaires
Tenderheaded: A Comb-Bending Collection of Hair Stories (2001) — Introduction — 91 exemplaires
Nine Plays by Black Women (1986) — Playwright — 86 exemplaires
The Virago Book of Wicked Verse (1992) — Contributeur — 82 exemplaires
Wild Women Don't Wear No Blues (1993) — Contributeur — 78 exemplaires
Honey, Hush! An Anthology of African American Women's Humor (1657) — Contributeur — 77 exemplaires
Rotten English: A Literary Anthology (2007) — Contributeur — 76 exemplaires
Choice Words: Writers on Abortion (2020) — Contributeur — 75 exemplaires
A Literary Christmas: Great Contemporary Christmas Stories (1992) — Contributeur — 70 exemplaires
Racism and Sexism: An Integrated Study (1988) — Contributeur — 62 exemplaires
Sugar in the Raw: Voices of Young Black Girls in America (1997) — Avant-propos — 61 exemplaires
Moving Parts: Monologues from Contemporary Plays (1992) — Contributeur — 60 exemplaires
Trouble the water : 250 years of African-American poetry (1997) — Contributeur — 56 exemplaires
May Your Days Be Merry and Bright: Christmas Stories by Women (1988) — Contributeur — 52 exemplaires
Midnight Birds: Stories by Contemporary Black Women Writers (1980) — Contributeur — 46 exemplaires
The Seasons of Women: An Anthology (1995) — Contributeur — 46 exemplaires
Sisterfire: Black Womanist Fiction and Poetry (1994) — Contributeur — 46 exemplaires
Moon Marked and Touched by Sun: Plays by African-American Women (1993) — Contributeur — 44 exemplaires
Modern and Contemporary Drama (1958) — Contributeur — 43 exemplaires
Prejudice: A Story Collection (1995) — Contributeur — 42 exemplaires
Dream Me Home Safely: Writers on Growing Up in America (2003) — Contributeur — 40 exemplaires
I Hear a Symphony: African Americans Celebrate Love (1994) — Contributeur — 33 exemplaires
A Way Out of No Way: Writing about Growing Up Black in America (1996) — Contributeur — 33 exemplaires
Catch the Fire!!! (1998) — Contributeur — 29 exemplaires
Best American Plays: 8th Series, 1974-1982 (1983) — Contributeur — 19 exemplaires
Wonders: Writings and Drawings for the Child in Us All (1980) — Contributeur — 18 exemplaires
Streetlights: Illuminating Tales of the Urban Black Experience (1996) — Contributeur — 12 exemplaires
Bittersweet (1998) — Contributeur — 10 exemplaires
360: A Revolution of Black Poets (1998) — Contributeur — 9 exemplaires
Heresies 6: On Women and Violence (1978) — Contributeur — 2 exemplaires
The Little Magazine, v. 10, #1-2, Spring Summer 1976 — Contributeur — 1 exemplaire
The Little Magazine, v. 11, #1, Spring 1977 — Contributeur — 1 exemplaire

Étiqueté

Partage des connaissances

Membres

Critiques

This choreopoem is somewhere between a poetry collection and a play. I found the introduction in this new updated edition incredibly helpful, because while I feel like I have seen this book around and been aware of it for ages, I didn't really know anything about it. The introduction described how this grew from a collection of poems into a performance piece, and then how it was updated over time.

This book is that harrowing kind of beautiful, that gives dignity by bearing witness to people living through difficult/impossible situations, that recognizes people fighting for their joy where they can find it, people surviving how they can.

The introduction also places the work in time, from its very beginnings in the mid-seventies to the way audience reactions have changed over time, to the legacy it has created for itself.

If it isn't clear, while I would have enjoyed this collection without the introduction, that context and history increased my understanding/connection/enjoyment of this piece several-fold.

This is beautiful but difficult. Please check the content warnings.

Recommended for fans of The Vagina Monologues, Shonda Rhimes, The Color Purple
… (plus d'informations)
½
 
Signalé
greeniezona | 22 autres critiques | Feb 22, 2024 |
There is a reason a lot of this author's work here was unpublishied to this point. This is a very uneven compilation of over four hundred pages. Some selections are very good and some are not. I liked her poetry best but the plays and essays are many times lacking. Shange rejects traditional language and spelling (could becomes cd) ala Jack Kerowuac. Also, there is constant namedropping that has the editor working overtime with footnotes.
 
Signalé
muddyboy | Nov 26, 2023 |
 
Signalé
hcs_admin | 7 autres critiques | Aug 18, 2023 |
Kadir Nelson did the beautiful illustrations. A children's picture book that tackles a difficult and complicated topic. This book will elicit questions from students and get them thinking
 
Signalé
bklver | 28 autres critiques | Jul 27, 2023 |

Listes

Prix et récompenses

Vous aimerez peut-être aussi

Auteurs associés

Statistiques

Œuvres
36
Aussi par
50
Membres
4,917
Popularité
#5,105
Évaluation
3.9
Critiques
169
ISBN
171
Langues
3
Favoris
10

Tableaux et graphiques