AccueilGroupesDiscussionsPlusTendances
Site de recherche
Ce site utilise des cookies pour fournir nos services, optimiser les performances, pour les analyses, et (si vous n'êtes pas connecté) pour les publicités. En utilisant Librarything, vous reconnaissez avoir lu et compris nos conditions générales d'utilisation et de services. Votre utilisation du site et de ses services vaut acceptation de ces conditions et termes
Hide this

Résultats trouvés sur Google Books

Cliquer sur une vignette pour aller sur Google Books.

The Guest List: A Novel par Lucy Foley
Chargement...

The Guest List: A Novel (original 2020; édition 2020)

par Lucy Foley (Auteur)

MembresCritiquesPopularitéÉvaluation moyenneMentions
1,430909,600 (3.65)47
"I loved this book. It gave me the same waves of happiness I get from curling up with a classic Christie...The alternating points of view keep you guessing, and guessing wrong." -- Alex Michaelides, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Silent Patient A wedding celebration turns dark and deadly in this deliciously wicked and atmospheric thriller reminiscent of Agatha Christie from the author of The Hunting Party. The bride ? The plus one ? The best man ? The wedding planner  ? The bridesmaid ? The body On an island off the coast of Ireland, guests gather to celebrate two people joining their lives together as one. The groom: handsome and charming, a rising television star. The bride: smart and ambitious, a magazine publisher. It's a wedding for a magazine, or for a celebrity: the designer dress, the remote location, the luxe party favors, the boutique whiskey. The cell phone service may be spotty and the waves may be rough, but every detail has been expertly planned and will be expertly executed. But perfection is for plans, and people are all too human. As the champagne is popped and the festivities begin, resentments and petty jealousies begin to mingle with the reminiscences and well wishes. The groomsmen begin the drinking game from their school days. The bridesmaid not-so-accidentally ruins her dress. The bride's oldest (male) friend gives an uncomfortably caring toast. And then someone turns up dead. Who didn't wish the happy couple well? And perhaps more important, why?… (plus d'informations)
Membre:mrssweetiebear
Titre:The Guest List: A Novel
Auteurs:Lucy Foley (Auteur)
Info:William Morrow (2020), 320 pages
Collections:Votre bibliothèque
Évaluation:**1/2
Mots-clés:read 2021

Détails de l'œuvre

The Guest List par Lucy Foley (2020)

Chargement...

Inscrivez-vous à LibraryThing pour découvrir si vous aimerez ce livre

Actuellement, il n'y a pas de discussions au sujet de ce livre.

» Voir aussi les 47 mentions

Affichage de 1-5 de 90 (suivant | tout afficher)
Leste den mens jeg ikke var i lesehumør i det hele tatt, men prøvde å presse meg gjennom det. Kom meg forbi de første 80-ish sidene og jeg likte boken, men forsto at jeg ikke kom til å fullføre den før innleveringsfristen. Vil gjerne gi den et forsøk til en dag.
  Danpo | Jun 20, 2021 |
I was enjoying this until the last act. The resolution of this thing was entirely implausible to this reader. ( )
  ethanw | Jun 20, 2021 |
I had enjoyed Lucy Foley’s previous novel, The Hunting Party, which I had picked up by chance when it was on offer very cheaply in my local supermarket, so I had high hopes of this, and I was not disappointed.

In fact, this is very similar in style and format to the earlier book, being offered to the reader in a succession of narratives from different characters, and leaping backwards and forwards in time. That sort of split narrative can easily become annoying if not deftly applied, but Foley manages it very effectively.

The action takes place at the wedding of Jules, who publishes a successful lifestyle magazine, and Will, celebrity presenter of a reality television show in which he is regularly left out in the middle of rough country with no phone, money or supplies, and has to fend for himself and make his way back to civilisation. Jules is determined that her wedding will be perfect, and has hired a hotel on a remote island off the west coast of Ireland. The hotel is a relatively new venture, and is keen to break into the special events market, so the approach from such a renowned couple to host their wedding seems like a great marketing coup, and they agree a generous reduction on the expectation of the free publicity that the event will attract.

The guests gradually assemble, although it soon becomes clear that there are more personal tensions seething below the surface than might reasonably be expected. Nearly all of the guests seem to have a devastating secret, and a reason for barely veiled hostility towards various other guests, including the happy couple themselves.

The island is remote, and the hotel is the only permanently occupied building on it. Access to the island is by boat from the mainland. This is wild country, however, frequently beset by gales, and as the wedding guests are ferried over to the island, weather forecasts predict an imminent and violent storm. Well, that all seems to be more than enough pathetic fallacy to start with!

Lucy Foley manages the tension with great dexterity – the divided narrative, witching between narrators and times works very effectively, and I have to confess that there were several plot twists and turns that I didn’t spot coming at all. ( )
1 voter Eyejaybee | May 25, 2021 |
Absolutely brilliant murder mystery! Kind of Liane Moriarty vibes, finished the whole thing in 2 seconds I couldn’t put it down. ( )
1 voter Annievdm | May 17, 2021 |
Grabbed this from one of the area Little Free Libraries. I enjoy murder-mysteries but was less enthusiastic about "Ireland" and a "wedding" as setting/theme. I almost put it back, but then reminded myself it's free and I can pass it on. What a ride! A real page-turner, and a keep-you-guessing style. Fun, fun, fun. I'm not sure I'm supposed to cheer for a murder at a wedding, but I did! 😄 ( )
  seongeona | May 13, 2021 |
Affichage de 1-5 de 90 (suivant | tout afficher)
Foley...outdoes herself again with this page-turning thriller; it's like experiencing Agatha Christie's Murder on the Orient Express and And Then There Were None rolled into one ... The island and the ancient folly where the wedding party stays are themselves characters, adding to the feeling of almost supernatural mystery and the unease that something is lurking in the shadows and getting ready to strike ... Only a handful of thriller writers can accomplish what Foley does here: weave a complex plot from the perspectives of eight characters plus an omniscient narrator without causing confusion or reader exhaustion when the plot bounces from one person to the next. Fans of Christie, Louise Penny, and Ruth Rendell will absolutely love this book, which doesn't reveal its secrets until the very last page.
ajouté par Lemeritus | modifierLibrary Journal, Adriana Delgado (payer le site) (May 1, 2020)
 
Foley defers disclosing the murder victim’s identity until quite late, but she undercuts the suspense with obvious indications of who it is. The tension of the setup isn’t quite matched by the reveals, though the nicely creepy setting compensates somewhat. Readers seeking thrills will find plenty.
ajouté par Lemeritus | modifierPublisher's Weekly (Mar 12, 2020)
 

» Ajouter d'autres auteur(e)s

Nom de l'auteur(e)RôleType d'auteurŒuvre ?Statut
Lucy Foleyauteur(e) principal(e)toutes les éditionscalculé
Davies, JotNarrateurauteur secondairequelques éditionsconfirmé
Vous devez vous identifier pour modifier le Partage des connaissances.
Pour plus d'aide, voir la page Aide sur le Partage des connaissances [en anglais].
Titre canonique
Informations provenant du Partage des connaissances anglais. Modifiez pour passer à votre langue.
Titre original
Titres alternatifs
Date de première publication
Personnes ou personnages
Lieux importants
Informations provenant du Partage des connaissances anglais. Modifiez pour passer à votre langue.
Évènements importants
Films connexes
Prix et distinctions
Informations provenant du Partage des connaissances anglais. Modifiez pour passer à votre langue.
Épigraphe
Dédicace
Informations provenant du Partage des connaissances anglais. Modifiez pour passer à votre langue.
For Kate and Robbie, the most supportive siblings a girl could hope for . . . luckily nothing like the ones in this book!
Premiers mots
Informations provenant du Partage des connaissances anglais. Modifiez pour passer à votre langue.
The lights go out.
Citations
Derniers mots
Informations provenant du Partage des connaissances anglais. Modifiez pour passer à votre langue.
(Cliquez pour voir. Attention : peut vendre la mèche.)
Notice de désambigüisation
Directeur(-trice)(s) de publication
Informations provenant du Partage des connaissances anglais. Modifiez pour passer à votre langue.
Courtes éloges de critiques
Langue d'origine
DDC/MDS canonique

Références à cette œuvre sur des ressources externes.

Wikipédia en anglais

Aucun

"I loved this book. It gave me the same waves of happiness I get from curling up with a classic Christie...The alternating points of view keep you guessing, and guessing wrong." -- Alex Michaelides, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Silent Patient A wedding celebration turns dark and deadly in this deliciously wicked and atmospheric thriller reminiscent of Agatha Christie from the author of The Hunting Party. The bride ? The plus one ? The best man ? The wedding planner  ? The bridesmaid ? The body On an island off the coast of Ireland, guests gather to celebrate two people joining their lives together as one. The groom: handsome and charming, a rising television star. The bride: smart and ambitious, a magazine publisher. It's a wedding for a magazine, or for a celebrity: the designer dress, the remote location, the luxe party favors, the boutique whiskey. The cell phone service may be spotty and the waves may be rough, but every detail has been expertly planned and will be expertly executed. But perfection is for plans, and people are all too human. As the champagne is popped and the festivities begin, resentments and petty jealousies begin to mingle with the reminiscences and well wishes. The groomsmen begin the drinking game from their school days. The bridesmaid not-so-accidentally ruins her dress. The bride's oldest (male) friend gives an uncomfortably caring toast. And then someone turns up dead. Who didn't wish the happy couple well? And perhaps more important, why?

Aucune description trouvée dans une bibliothèque

Description du livre
Résumé sous forme de haïku

Vos raccourcis

Couvertures populaires

Évaluation

Moyenne: (3.65)
0.5 1
1 12
1.5 1
2 17
2.5 12
3 102
3.5 67
4 172
4.5 19
5 58

Est-ce vous ?

Devenez un(e) auteur LibraryThing.

 

À propos | Contact | LibraryThing.com | Respect de la vie privée et règles d'utilisation | Aide/FAQ | Blog | Boutique | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliothèques historiques | Critiques en avant-première | Partage des connaissances | 159,089,057 livres! | Barre supérieure: Toujours visible