AccueilGroupesDiscussionsPlusTendances
Ce site utilise des cookies pour fournir nos services, optimiser les performances, pour les analyses, et (si vous n'êtes pas connecté) pour les publicités. En utilisant Librarything, vous reconnaissez avoir lu et compris nos conditions générales d'utilisation et de services. Votre utilisation du site et de ses services vaut acceptation de ces conditions et termes
Hide this

Résultats trouvés sur Google Books

Cliquer sur une vignette pour aller sur Google Books.

The Way Past Winter par Kiran Millwood…
Chargement...

The Way Past Winter (original 2018; édition 2020)

par Kiran Millwood Hargrave (Auteur)

MembresCritiquesPopularitéÉvaluation moyenneMentions
603335,912 (3.31)2
From the bestselling author of THE GIRL OF INK & STARS comes a gorgeous wintry folk tale for young and old alike - an exciting adventure to the frozen north, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman. 'This gorgeous story of bravery, sisterhood, goodbyes and beginnings is a must for everyone.'JESSIEBURTON 'The Way Past Winter is a masterclass in exquisite storytelling.'CATHERINE DOYLE 'Gorgeous, heartfelt and incredibly exciting. Her best yet, and that'ssaying something.'ROBIN STEVENS Mila and her sisters live with their brother Oskar in a small forest cabin in the snow. One night, a fur-clad stranger arrives seeking shelter for himself and his men. But by the next morning, they've gone - taking Oskar with them. Fearful for his safety, Mila and her sisters set out to bring Oskar back - even it means going north, crossing frozen wild-lands to find a way past an eternal winter.… (plus d'informations)
Membre:sophiehatter
Titre:The Way Past Winter
Auteurs:Kiran Millwood Hargrave (Auteur)
Info:Chronicle Books (2020), 284 pages
Collections:Sophie's Shelf, Votre bibliothèque
Évaluation:****
Mots-clés:Aucun

Détails de l'œuvre

The Way Past Winter par Kiran Millwood Hargrave (2018)

Aucun.

Aucun
Chargement...

Inscrivez-vous à LibraryThing pour découvrir si vous aimerez ce livre

Actuellement, il n'y a pas de discussions au sujet de ce livre.

» Voir aussi les 2 mentions

3 sur 3
Enjoyable for the strong female protagonist in Mila and strong supporting characters in Pipa and Rune, but too many repetitions of Mila's emotions roiling in her gut/stomach, gasping, hands tightening became annoying and distracted from the flow of the tale. And the father's remorse for destroying the heart-tree was forgiven too quickly. To me, he symbolized we humans tearing down the forests and destroying wildlife, and that is a huge problem not to be easily fixed. Yes, he promised to plant a new heart-tree, but one does not re-plant old-growth overnight. I would have wished for the father's revelation coming earlier in the book, with more time taken for remorse and the difficulty of restoration while building up to a reason for hope in all people coming together to help. ( )
  bookwren | Feb 7, 2021 |
Amazing style and language but I felt the plot was too simplistic and let it down. Characters also felt unoriginal. ( )
  Jennie_103 | Sep 19, 2019 |
In the fifth year of winter, Mila and her sisters wake up to find their brother has left. Sanna believes Oskar willingly left them, like their father once did, but Mila is convinced that Oskar was taken by last night’s unsettling visitors -- and is determined to rescue him.

I didn’t find this as emotional and as compelling as Hargrave’s previous books. I don’t know if that’s because this is a simpler narrative or because I didn’t listen to the audio book -- a good narrator adds liveliness and emotion. But Hargrave’s prose is lovely and I liked the fairytale quality this story has.

Some folk moved from their frozen land, but most stayed and, as people do, changed to fit their changed world. They changed their stories too. Gone were tellings of honey and plenty: tales became warnings, sharp as bee stings. ( )
  Herenya | Aug 10, 2019 |
3 sur 3
aucune critique | ajouter une critique

» Ajouter d'autres auteur(e)s

Nom de l'auteur(e)RôleType d'auteurŒuvre ?Statut
Kiran Millwood Hargraveauteur(e) principal(e)toutes les éditionscalculé
O'Hara, LaurenIllustrateurauteur secondairequelques éditionsconfirmé
Vous devez vous identifier pour modifier le Partage des connaissances.
Pour plus d'aide, voir la page Aide sur le Partage des connaissances [en anglais].
Titre canonique
Titre original
Titres alternatifs
Date de première publication
Personnes ou personnages
Informations provenant du Partage des connaissances anglais. Modifiez pour passer à votre langue.
Lieux importants
Informations provenant du Partage des connaissances anglais. Modifiez pour passer à votre langue.
Évènements importants
Films connexes
Prix et distinctions
Épigraphe
Dédicace
Informations provenant du Partage des connaissances anglais. Modifiez pour passer à votre langue.
For N, & my brother John, the brave ones
Premiers mots
Informations provenant du Partage des connaissances anglais. Modifiez pour passer à votre langue.
Once upon a time far distant from our own, in a place very near, there lived a bear named Eldbjorn.
Citations
Derniers mots
Informations provenant du Partage des connaissances anglais. Modifiez pour passer à votre langue.
(Cliquez pour voir. Attention : peut vendre la mèche.)
Notice de désambigüisation
Directeur(-trice)(s) de publication
Courtes éloges de critiques
Langue d'origine
DDC/MDS canonique

Références à cette œuvre sur des ressources externes.

Wikipédia en anglais

Aucun

From the bestselling author of THE GIRL OF INK & STARS comes a gorgeous wintry folk tale for young and old alike - an exciting adventure to the frozen north, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman. 'This gorgeous story of bravery, sisterhood, goodbyes and beginnings is a must for everyone.'JESSIEBURTON 'The Way Past Winter is a masterclass in exquisite storytelling.'CATHERINE DOYLE 'Gorgeous, heartfelt and incredibly exciting. Her best yet, and that'ssaying something.'ROBIN STEVENS Mila and her sisters live with their brother Oskar in a small forest cabin in the snow. One night, a fur-clad stranger arrives seeking shelter for himself and his men. But by the next morning, they've gone - taking Oskar with them. Fearful for his safety, Mila and her sisters set out to bring Oskar back - even it means going north, crossing frozen wild-lands to find a way past an eternal winter.

Aucune description trouvée dans une bibliothèque

Description du livre
Résumé sous forme de haïku

Vos raccourcis

Couvertures populaires

Évaluation

Moyenne: (3.31)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 5
3.5 1
4 2
4.5
5

Est-ce vous ?

Devenez un(e) auteur LibraryThing.

 

À propos | Contact | LibraryThing.com | Respect de la vie privée et règles d'utilisation | Aide/FAQ | Blog | Boutique | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliothèques historiques | Critiques en avant-première | Partage des connaissances | 155,578,260 livres! | Barre supérieure: Toujours visible