AccueilGroupesDiscussionsPlusTendances
Site de recherche
Ce site utilise des cookies pour fournir nos services, optimiser les performances, pour les analyses, et (si vous n'êtes pas connecté) pour les publicités. En utilisant Librarything, vous reconnaissez avoir lu et compris nos conditions générales d'utilisation et de services. Votre utilisation du site et de ses services vaut acceptation de ces conditions et termes.
Hide this

Résultats trouvés sur Google Books

Cliquer sur une vignette pour aller sur Google Books.

Nocturna par Maya Motayne
Chargement...

Nocturna (édition 2019)

par Maya Motayne (Auteur)

Séries: A Forgery of Magic (1)

MembresCritiquesPopularitéÉvaluation moyenneMentions
256581,431 (3.6)3
The first in a sweeping and epic own voices debut fantasy trilogy--set in a stunning Latinx-inspired world--about a face-changing thief and a risk-taking prince who must team up to defeat a powerful evil they accidentally unleashed. Perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Leigh Bardugo, and V. E. Schwab. To Finn Voy, magic is two things: a knife to hold under the chin of anyone who crosses her...and a disguise she shrugs on as easily as others pull on cloaks. As a talented faceshifter, it's been years since Finn has seen her own face, and that's exactly how she likes it. But when Finn gets caught by a powerful mobster, she's forced into an impossible mission: steal a legendary treasure from Castallan's royal palace or be stripped of her magic forever. After the murder of his older brother, Prince Alfehr is first in line for the Castallan throne. But Alfie can't help but feel that he will never live up to his brother's legacy. Riddled with grief, Alfie is obsessed with finding a way to bring his brother back, even if it means dabbling in forbidden magic. But when Finn and Alfie's fates collide, they accidentally unlock a terrible, ancient power--which, if not contained, will devour the world. And with Castallan's fate in their hands, Alfie and Finn must race to vanquish what they have unleashed, even if it means facing the deepest darkness in their pasts.… (plus d'informations)
Membre:rebeccalunaris
Titre:Nocturna
Auteurs:Maya Motayne (Auteur)
Info:Balzer Bray (2019), 480 pages
Collections:Votre bibliothèque
Évaluation:
Mots-clés:Aucun

Détails de l'œuvre

Nocturna par Maya Motayne

Chargement...

Inscrivez-vous à LibraryThing pour découvrir si vous aimerez ce livre

Actuellement, il n'y a pas de discussions au sujet de ce livre.

» Voir aussi les 3 mentions

5 sur 5
This review is posted on both my personal goodreads account as well as the Crossroads Public Library account.

Actual Rating: 3.75 Stars

I actually really did enjoy this book *but* I also really enjoyed A Darker Shade of Magic and since the first half of the book was pretty similar, it makes sense that I would enjoy it. I'm sure that it wasn't intentional on the author's part, because I don't think that anyone would intentionally do it, but the fact of the matter is that this book started out very similar to A Darker Shade of Magic and I think that needs to be said.

Aside from that, the world building and magic system was interesting. I enjoyed the latinx inspiration of everything. The characters were likable - I loved the prince. Such a little cinnamon roll to me, even with the dark magic use. I'm looking forward to the sequel - let's hope there's no magic competition games in it.

-Kelli ( )
  zombiibean | Nov 20, 2020 |
"I know the difference between 'could' and 'will'. Those words spell the difference between a good man and a bad one. The light and the dark."

What a ride! I truly enjoyed this one, the writing was really easy to get through and the atmosphere was so compelling i couldn't put it down.
Latinx worlds are so rarely seen in ya fantasy so my interest was at its peak! And it didn't disappoint.
Finn and Alfie were really the best part of the book for me! The way they get used to each other was so heartwarming!
The difference between good and evil, between monster and hero is a fine line and this book gave me exactly what i crave for. Grey areas, complex imperfect characters, tangled relationships. HELL TO THE YES.

"First, we get Luka to bed. Then I need a book."
Finn rolled her eyes as the late morning sun stretched its glowing fingers across the room's tiled floor. "Of course you do."

Finn and Alfie's banter was hilarious! They have very different personalities but at the same time they complete each other perfectly. The whole "listen, i don't like you but i will protect you at any costs so maybe in the end i actually like you" game vibe was strong.

I loved Luka with my all heart, and i truly hope we'll see more of him in book 2.

A really entertaining first book and a really good debut for the author! ( )
  primordialnyx | Jun 24, 2020 |
SLOOOOW, I mean a snail riding a turtle slow. This book gave too much detail in things that were not necessary, and the metaphors and similes were as elementary as my 5th grade class. Now, I'm a sucker for a good magical, fantasy YA book. No one recommended this to me, I choose it on my own, and that was a catastrophic mistake. I don't recommend this book to my 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th or 10th grade students. It's so slow that I would be shocked if the avid reader, like myself, attempted this book and demanded their money back! ( )
  MrNattania72 | Mar 17, 2020 |
DNF @35%
I hate to say it but this is just not holding my interest right now and I have to put it down.

I thought the worldbuilding was good - there was a clear established history and conflict between Englass and Castallan that was messy, complex, and a perfect setting for a fantasty story. Unfortunately, I didn't really like the characters all that much so I couldn't get into the plot. And I got to the shift in the story, and I just wasn't feeling it and I didn't want to put myself in a slump, so I decided to quite while I was a head.

I do think a lot of peopel will enjoy this story, If you are more plot or world -driven when you read, I think you would probably still enjoy this. But as a character reader - whi didn't like the characters - this one unfortunantely wasn't for me.
I received a copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.? ( )
  LifeofaLiteraryNerd | Oct 9, 2019 |
Solid 4 stars. Thanks to Eidleweiss and the publisher/author for an ARC. It's taken me forever to get this review up. When everything is falling apart, a review is the least of your concerns...
This book was so freaking good! As I said, I was going through a rough patch, but this book was something I could really use as an escape. I was swept up in the magic of Castellan and the banter of our main characters.
Finn is smart, funny, and broken with a dark past and little hope of redemption (at least as far as she's concerned).
Alfie is meant to be king but is apprehensive, certain he's not capable of the job.
Together they make up for the other's shortcomings. Both are relatable, likable, and believable.

When Alfie makes a terrible mistake in an effort to save a friend, Finn and Alfie must work together to do the impossible and stop an unspeakable evil.

There is no insta-love (or any real romance type stuff at all), thankfully. I do wish I could have "seen" more of Castellan, but what is described is done very well. I really enjoyed my time with this book. ( )
  TinaTome | Jun 3, 2019 |
5 sur 5
aucune critique | ajouter une critique

» Ajouter d'autres auteur(e)s (5 possibles)

Nom de l'auteur(e)RôleType d'auteurŒuvre ?Statut
Maya Motayneauteur(e) principal(e)toutes les éditionscalculé
Leeuwen, Mark vanArtiste de la couvertureauteur secondairequelques éditionsconfirmé
Parlagreco, AuroraConcepteur de la couvertureauteur secondairequelques éditionsconfirmé
Stempel-Lobell, JennaConcepteur de la couvertureauteur secondairequelques éditionsconfirmé

Appartient à la série

Vous devez vous identifier pour modifier le Partage des connaissances.
Pour plus d'aide, voir la page Aide sur le Partage des connaissances [en anglais].
Titre canonique
Titre original
Titres alternatifs
Date de première publication
Personnes ou personnages
Lieux importants
Évènements importants
Films connexes
Prix et distinctions
Épigraphe
Dédicace
Premiers mots
Citations
Derniers mots
Notice de désambigüisation
Directeur(-trice)(s) de publication
Informations provenant du Partage des connaissances anglais. Modifiez pour passer à votre langue.
Courtes éloges de critiques
Langue d'origine
DDC/MDS canonique
LCC canonique

Références à cette œuvre sur des ressources externes.

Wikipédia en anglais

Aucun

The first in a sweeping and epic own voices debut fantasy trilogy--set in a stunning Latinx-inspired world--about a face-changing thief and a risk-taking prince who must team up to defeat a powerful evil they accidentally unleashed. Perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Leigh Bardugo, and V. E. Schwab. To Finn Voy, magic is two things: a knife to hold under the chin of anyone who crosses her...and a disguise she shrugs on as easily as others pull on cloaks. As a talented faceshifter, it's been years since Finn has seen her own face, and that's exactly how she likes it. But when Finn gets caught by a powerful mobster, she's forced into an impossible mission: steal a legendary treasure from Castallan's royal palace or be stripped of her magic forever. After the murder of his older brother, Prince Alfehr is first in line for the Castallan throne. But Alfie can't help but feel that he will never live up to his brother's legacy. Riddled with grief, Alfie is obsessed with finding a way to bring his brother back, even if it means dabbling in forbidden magic. But when Finn and Alfie's fates collide, they accidentally unlock a terrible, ancient power--which, if not contained, will devour the world. And with Castallan's fate in their hands, Alfie and Finn must race to vanquish what they have unleashed, even if it means facing the deepest darkness in their pasts.

Aucune description trouvée dans une bibliothèque

Description du livre
Résumé sous forme de haïku

Couvertures populaires

Vos raccourcis

Évaluation

Moyenne: (3.6)
0.5
1
1.5
2 3
2.5
3 4
3.5 1
4 11
4.5
5 2

Est-ce vous ?

Devenez un(e) auteur LibraryThing.

 

À propos | Contact | LibraryThing.com | Respect de la vie privée et règles d'utilisation | Aide/FAQ | Blog | Boutique | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliothèques historiques | Critiques en avant-première | Partage des connaissances | 162,372,575 livres! | Barre supérieure: Toujours visible