AccueilGroupesDiscussionsPlusTendances
Site de recherche
Ce site utilise des cookies pour fournir nos services, optimiser les performances, pour les analyses, et (si vous n'êtes pas connecté) pour les publicités. En utilisant Librarything, vous reconnaissez avoir lu et compris nos conditions générales d'utilisation et de services. Votre utilisation du site et de ses services vaut acceptation de ces conditions et termes.

Résultats trouvés sur Google Books

Cliquer sur une vignette pour aller sur Google Books.

Chargement...

The Poet X

par Elizabeth Acevedo

Autres auteurs: Voir la section autres auteur(e)s.

MembresCritiquesPopularitéÉvaluation moyenneMentions
2,4631665,992 (4.44)155
Poetry. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:

Don't miss this acclaimed audiobook, read by the authorwinner of an Odyssey Honor and an AudioFile Earphones Award winner!

The Poet X is also the winner of the National Book Award for Young People's Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpr Award.

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayersespecially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

"Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

"An incredibly potent debut." Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

.
… (plus d'informations)
Chargement...

Inscrivez-vous à LibraryThing pour découvrir si vous aimerez ce livre

Actuellement, il n'y a pas de discussions au sujet de ce livre.

» Voir aussi les 155 mentions

Affichage de 1-5 de 167 (suivant | tout afficher)
In her debut novel, Acevedo tells the story of a teen from Harlem, who finds her voice in writing poetry, but who struggles against her mother’s expectations.

I love poetry. I am in awe with how much a poet can convey in so few words. And Acevedo does a truly marvelous job in this novel-in-verse.

Xiomara (sometimes referred to as Xio or simply X) is not the best student, but when it comes to her poetry her English teacher recognizes talent and encourages Xio to express herself. Being a teenager is hard. Xio’s path is further complicated by her early development of “curves” and by her twin brother’s genius status. (He has skipped a grade and attends a different school.) Then there is her mother, who at one time wanted to be a nun, but instead married Xio’s father. Mami insists that Xio attend church and be pious, but Xio isn’t feeling it.

She isn’t at all wild, but she is attracted to a boy in her biology lab. She would like to be able to be a normal teenager, with friends, including boys, but she cannot talk to her mother. So, she pours her feelings into her poetry, written in a leather-bound notebook her twin gave her. As she finds her voice, she also finds the courage to be herself. ( )
  BookConcierge | Feb 23, 2024 |
I read this book switching back and forth between audiobook and physical, and it was really wonderful both ways! It’s honest, engaging, and lively, and there was never a point where I wasn’t interested in X’s story. The explorations of thoughts on family, religious belief, teenage feelings, and finding your voice were all handled with such care and truthfulness that it was almost impossible to not become emotional involved. Acevedo is definitely an auto-read author for me now, both this and “With the Fire on High” were incredible books! ( )
  deborahee | Feb 23, 2024 |
Sooo good! My favorite poem was the one originally written in Spanish. ( )
  Dances_with_Words | Jan 6, 2024 |
I listened to the audiobook edition of this novel in verse, The Poet X, narrated by the author Elizabeth Acevedo herself.
A Dominican American teen, Xiomara, living in Spanish Harlem, writes of her life with her family: her twin brother, her father and her extremely religious Catholic mother. She write of her hopes and dreams, her internal battles with Catholicism, unwanted attention by males, her first love, her love of writing and poetry. Beautiful! ( )
  deslivres5 | Jan 4, 2024 |
I do not like slam poetry generally. It often comes across as melodramatic to me and this was no exception. Xiomara has legitimate problems (overprotective mother, stifling expectations based on her gender, sexual harassment from boys and men, pressure to go through Catholic confirmation). I get it. But this book was almost too much like a real teenage diary for me (an adult) to enjoy it as literature. Do I think teens will love it? Yes, absolutely. I think a lot of young people will eat it up. It's raw and real and emotionally charged. Reading this book, there were many times when I just sighed and thought about how glad I am not to be a teenager anymore.

I might have given this four stars based on how well I think it will work for the intended audience, but the ending bothered me. So all Xiomara and her mother had to do was counseling with Father Sean? That tidily resolved their dispute? Now Altagracia will let X choose poetry over Bible study and let her go out with her boyfriend? Really? Did I misread that? It just confirmed what I felt about most of the book -- a teen's idea of high stakes is nowhere near my idea of high stakes. ( )
  LibrarianDest | Jan 3, 2024 |
Affichage de 1-5 de 167 (suivant | tout afficher)
aucune critique | ajouter une critique

» Ajouter d'autres auteur(e)s

Nom de l'auteurRôleType d'auteurŒuvre ?Statut
Acevedo, ElizabethAuteurauteur principaltoutes les éditionsconfirmé
Acevedo, ElizabethNarrateurauteur secondairequelques éditionsconfirmé

Prix et récompenses

Distinctions

Listes notables

Vous devez vous identifier pour modifier le Partage des connaissances.
Pour plus d'aide, voir la page Aide sur le Partage des connaissances [en anglais].
Titre canonique
Informations provenant du Partage des connaissances anglais. Modifiez pour passer à votre langue.
Titre original
Titres alternatifs
Date de première publication
Personnes ou personnages
Informations provenant du Partage des connaissances anglais. Modifiez pour passer à votre langue.
Lieux importants
Informations provenant du Partage des connaissances anglais. Modifiez pour passer à votre langue.
Évènements importants
Films connexes
Épigraphe
Dédicace
Informations provenant du Partage des connaissances anglais. Modifiez pour passer à votre langue.
To Katherine Bolaños and my former students at Buck Lodge Middle School 2010-2012, and all the little sisters yearning to see themselves: this is for you
Premiers mots
Informations provenant du Partage des connaissances anglais. Modifiez pour passer à votre langue.
Friday, August 24
Stoop-Sitting

The summer is made for stoop-sitting
and since it's the last week before school starts,
Harlem is opening its eyes to September.
Citations
Derniers mots
Informations provenant du Partage des connaissances anglais. Modifiez pour passer à votre langue.
(Cliquez pour voir. Attention : peut vendre la mèche.)
Notice de désambigüisation
Directeur de publication
Informations provenant du Partage des connaissances anglais. Modifiez pour passer à votre langue.
Courtes éloges de critiques
Informations provenant du Partage des connaissances anglais. Modifiez pour passer à votre langue.
Langue d'origine
Informations provenant du Partage des connaissances anglais. Modifiez pour passer à votre langue.
DDC/MDS canonique
LCC canonique

Références à cette œuvre sur des ressources externes.

Wikipédia en anglais

Aucun

Poetry. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:

Don't miss this acclaimed audiobook, read by the authorwinner of an Odyssey Honor and an AudioFile Earphones Award winner!

The Poet X is also the winner of the National Book Award for Young People's Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpr Award.

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayersespecially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

"Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

"An incredibly potent debut." Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

.

Aucune description trouvée dans une bibliothèque

Description du livre
Résumé sous forme de haïku

Critiques des anciens de LibraryThing en avant-première

Le livre The Poet X de Elizabeth Acevedo était disponible sur LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Discussion en cours

Aucun

Couvertures populaires

Vos raccourcis

Évaluation

Moyenne: (4.44)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 7
2.5 1
3 29
3.5 15
4 196
4.5 44
5 285

Est-ce vous ?

Devenez un(e) auteur LibraryThing.

 

À propos | Contact | LibraryThing.com | Respect de la vie privée et règles d'utilisation | Aide/FAQ | Blog | Boutique | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliothèques historiques | Critiques en avant-première | Partage des connaissances | 201,871,095 livres! | Barre supérieure: Toujours visible